Lama (Sanskrit guru; Tibetan བླ་མ་, Wyl. bla ma as the contraction of བླ་ན་མེད་པ་, bla na med pa) — a spiritual teacher.


There exists several categorizations, such as the four kinds of teacher:

Or the six categories of teacher:

  1. the teacher who is a guide
  2. the mind-liberating teacher
  3. the teacher who grants pith instructions
  4. vow-restoring teacher
  5. teacher who gives empowerments and samayas
  6. general teacher

Alternative Translations

Teachings Given to the Rigpa Sangha

Key Buddhist Terms Key Ayurvedic Terms Titles

lama.txt · Last modified: 2016/02/02 13:59 by Dorjay Zopa